2017 Fall Couture: Jean Paul Gaultier

From the first time I saw The Fifth Element, I’ve loved Jean Paul Gaultier and the alternative-alien 90’s universe he’s stuck in. Conceptually his pieces are great, but universally, it’s hard to distill a consistent theme. Not wow-ing necessarily. There’s a definitive woodland feel, with an owl-head inspiration, and then a nod to backpacker hobo chic in the middle. (I also can smell a Mary J/early 2000s aura, which I have mixed emotions about. The early 2000s were…well.)  While I can’t seem to fully describe it, I do note the interesting use of moire, furry patchwork and unicolor outfits. Personally, I was not a fan of the hair/makeup styling – it came off as inappropriate and ultimately too severe. All that being said, I loved his marriée at the end – she makes me want to draw her. I mean, she’s basically perfect for this label.

Photos

Leave a Reply

