Forays Into Couture: Phase 1

…I’m the ghost with the most, babe

I’m fascinated by couture technique and design. So I’m working on my first ever full couture project, using construction methods from Dior, Valentino, YSL, etc. I’m beyond hype about my design, which is based on a vintage Schiaparelli aesthetic, and the movie Beetlejuice! Which is, and has been, and will be one of my forever faves. The sequel is a lie. I was shamelessly inspired by Elsa Schiaparelli’s bug pin shawl and locust button jacket. In several weeks’ time I’ll be happily modeling a jacket/skirt/blouse suit ensemble.  I’m going easy on the pattern, mainly because I need this to be a good experience, especially since I want to be a couturier! The shapes are pretty classic/standard, but the emphasis here will be on the technique, hand-sewing and intricate detailing.

I’ve trimmed my moodboard down to the following pairs:

Right now, I’m working on the patterns, and in the spare-spare time, illustrative sketches!

 

Leave a Reply

